Summer Intensive in Creative Writing

Creative Writing

Creative Writing

Poetry, Fiction, and Creative Nonfiction

Program Information

Dates: June 12–24, 2016

Extended Application Deadline: April 22, 2016

Tuition: $2,860

Program Contact:
Phone: 212-998-7091 or


Become a member of a selective writers' community this summer. This intensive two-week program is designed for poets, fiction writers, and nonfiction writers who wish to develop their process and to refine their craft in one of these areas.

During the two-week period, you will spend six mornings in improvisation workshops taught by the NYU School of Professional Studies Undergraduate Degree Completion Programs faculty members. These workshops will help you to find new ways of generating and revising text. You will participate in seven craft workshops in either poetry or prose that are taught by distinguished visiting writers. Nick Flynn is the invited poet; Andre Dubus III, the invited fiction writer; and Aminatta Forna, the invited nonfiction writer. During two of the seven sessions, you will work with a writer in a genre other than your own. You also will have private conferences with the craft teacher in your area of concentration during the two-week workshop. In the evenings, you will attend readings, lectures, and social events.

Who Should Register?

Students must apply for admission to the program. A maximum of 12 poets, 12 fiction writers, and 12 nonfiction writers will be chosen to participate. Participants should have some prior course work in poetry or prose. Students may apply on a credit or noncredit basis. Those taking the course for credit will be asked to submit additional written materials later in the summer.


The total tuition is $2,860. The cost excludes transportation, housing, and meals. Students taking the course for credit pay the regular fee for a four-credit course in the NYU School of Professional Studies Undergraduate Degree Completion Programs.

Andre Dubus III (fiction) grew up in mill towns on the Merrimack River along the Massachusetts-New Hampshire border. He is the author of six books including three New York Times bestsellers. House of Sand and Fog was a #1 New York Times bestseller, a fiction finalist for the National Book Award, the Los Angeles Times Book Prize, and Booksense Book of the Year, and was an Oprah Book Club Selection, and was adapted into an Academy Award-nominated motion picture starring Ben Kingsley and Jennifer Connelly. The Garden of Last Days is soon to be a major motion picture. His memoir, Townie, was a #4 New York Times bestseller and a New York Times Editors Choice. Dirty Love was chosen as a Notable Book and Editors’ Choice from The New York Times, a Notable Fiction from The Washington Post, and a Kirkus Starred Best Book of 2013. Dubus has been awarded a Guggenheim Fellowship, The National Magazine Award for Fiction, two Pushcart Prizes, and an American Academy of Arts and Letters Award in Literature. His books are published in over 25 languages.

Nick Flynn (poetry) is the author of three memoirs, The Reenactments, The Ticking Is the Bomb, and Another Bullshit Night in Suck City, which has been made into a film, Being Flynn, starring Robert DeNiro as Flynn’s father, Julianne Moore, and Paul Dano. He is the author of four books of poetry, My Feelings; The Captain Asks for a Show of Hands; Some Ether, which won the PEN/Joyce Osterweil Award; and Blind Huber. He has been awarded fellowships from the Guggenheim Foundation, the Library of Congress, the Amy Lowell Trust, and the Fine Arts Work Center. His poems, essays, and nonfiction have appeared in The New Yorker, The Paris Review, National Public Radio's This American Life, and The New York Times Book Review

Aminatta Forna (nonfiction) is the award-winning author of the novels The Hired Man, The Memory of Love, and Ancestor Stones. She also is the author of The Devil that Danced on the Water, which was published in 2002 and then serialized on BBC Radio 4 and extracted in The Sunday Times (London). A runner up for The Samuel Johnson Prize for Non-Fiction 2003, The Devil that Danced on the Water also was chosen for the Barnes & Noble Discover Great New Writers series. Her fiction has won the Commonwealth Writers' Prize Best Book Award, and has been short-listed for The Neustadt Prize, the Orange Prize for Fiction, the IMPAC Award, The Warwick Prize, and has been nominated for the European Prize for Fiction. Forna is currently a Lannan visiting chair at Georgetown University.

Ruth Danon (improvisation workshop teacher) is clinical professor of creative and expository writing at the NYU School of Professional Studies (NYUSPS) Undergraduate Degree Completion Programs, and founder and director of the Summer Intensive in Creative Writing. A poet and nonfiction writer, she is the author of Limitless Tiny Boat, Triangulation from a Known Point, and Living with the Fireman. Her poems and essays have been published in Post Road, Augury, Mead, Versal, Grey Sparrow Review, On Barcelona, Barrow Street, Moria, The New Hampshire Review, Crayon, Fence, 3rd Bed, BOMB, The Paris Review, The Gettysburg Review, The New England Review, and many other publications. Her work appeared in Best American Poetry 2002, edited by Robert Creeley. In 2010 she received the NYUSPS Teacher of Distinction Award.

April Krassner (improvisation workshop teacher) is the codirector of the Summer Intensive in Creative Writing, associate professor of developmental writing, and associate director of the Writing Development Division of the Office of the Dean at the NYU School of Professional Studies. A poet, her work has appeared in print and online in numerous publications including Poetry Breakfast, Anderbo, Cyclamens and Swords, Moria, Slapdrag, and in the anthology Journey to Crone, published by Chuffed Buff Books. In 2008 Krassner received an award for outstanding service to the NYUSPS Undergraduate Degree Completion Programs and in 2011 she received the NYUSPS Teaching Excellence Award.

Charles Bernstein
Carol Maso
Michael Steinberg

Dave Hickey*
John Yau
Siri Hustvedt

Edmund White
Joyce Johnson
Robert Creeley

*Recipient of the MacArthur Fellowship

Claudia Rankine
Lydia Davis*
Nick Flynn

John Edgar Wideman*
Mark Doty
Phillip Lopate

Tim O'Brien
Jean Valentine

Joanna Scott*
Michael Harper
Robin Hemley

Patricia Hampl*
Mary Gordon
Billy Collins

Charles Simic
Francine Prose