Distinguished Lecturer Series

Distinguished Lecture Series

Distinguished Lecture Series

In additional to large-scale professional conferences, the NYU School of Professional Studies Jonathan M. Tisch Center of Hospitality also hosts two Distinguished Lecturer Series: The Stephen W. Brener Distinguished Lecturer Series in Hospitality Management and The Ricelle "Bunny" Grossinger Distinguished Lecturer Series in Tourism Management. These events are open to students, faculty members, and industry professionals. They provide lively discussion and an invigorating exchange of ideas. Each features top industry panelists.

Lecturer Series Speakers

2018: Interview, On Being a Leader: Leading in the Disrupted and Consolidating Hospitality Industry, moderated by Jonathan M. Tisch, chairman and CEO of Loews Hotels & Co. and co-chairman of the Board of Loews Corporation, with guest David Marriott, chief operations officer – Eastern Region, The Americas, Marriott International

Previous Speakers

2017: Interview, Disruption in Hospitality: How to Thrive in Today’s Rapidly Changing Global Economy moderated by Steve Kent, Visiting Clinical Assistant Professor, NYUSPS Jonathan M. Tisch Center of Hospitality with guest Frits van Paasschen, author, and former CEO of Starwood Hotels and Resorts

2016: Interview, Enlightened Hospitality: The Transforming Power of Putting People First moderated by Ariane Ruskin Batterberry, cofounder, Food & Wine and Food Arts magazines; author and coauthor of numerous books about food, the arts, and social history with guest Danny Meyer, chief executive officer, Union Square Hospitality Group and founder, Shake Shack

2015: Evan Frank, cofounder and vice president, Americas, onefinestay; and Steve Haggerty, global head of capital strategy, franchising, and select service, Hyatt Corporation

2013: Dr. Richard Born, founder and president, BD Hotels; Alex Calderwood, cofounder, Ace Hotel Group; Sean MacPherson, hotelier; and Ed Scheetz, chief executive officer, King & Grove

2012: Glyn F. Aeppel, president and chief executive officer, Glencove Capital; Brooke Denihan Barrett, co-chief executive officer, Denihan Hospitality Group; Anne R. Lloyd-Jones, managing director, HVS; Karen E. Rubin, SVP global development policy and feasibility, Starwood Hotels & Resorts Worldwide

2011: Randell A. Smith, chairman and founder, Smith Travel Research (STR)

2010: Jason Pomeranc, co-owner, Thompson Hotels

2009: Kathleen Dauber, principal, and Thomas Johnson, director of marketing and business development, HBA / Hirsch Bedner Associates Design Consultants

2008: Daniel R. Flannery, vice president and area general manager, The Ritz Carlton Hotels of New York and Boston

2007: Eric O. Long, general manager, Waldorf=Astoria & Waldorf Towers; Offer Nissenbaum, managing director, Peninsula Beverly Hills; Dominique Piquemal, managing director, The LONDON NYC; Mary Lou Pollack, general manager, The Alex

2006: Steven A. Rudnitsky, president and chief executive officer, Wyndham Hotel Group

2005: Laurence Geller, president and chief executive officer, Strategic Hotels & Resorts

2004: Stephen Rushmore, president and founder, HVS International

2003: Stanley Turkel, hotel consultant; Vijay Dandapani, chief operating officer, Apple Core Hotels; Anil R. Patel, president, Northstar Management Group; Dinubhai D. Patel, owner-operator, Advanced Motel; Fred Schwartz, president, AAHOA; Alan L.Tallis, executive vice president-chief development officer, La Quinta Inns

2002: Richard M. Born, principal, BD Hotels

2001: Laurence S. Geller, chief executive officer, Strategic Hotel Capital

2000: Richard Miller, vice president, research, World Travel & Tourism Council

1999: Eric O. Long, general manager, The Waldorf=Astoria

1998: Jonathan M. Tisch, president and chief executive officer, Loews Hotels

1997: J.T. Kuhlman, chief operating officer, Inter-Continental Hotels and Resorts; Stephen Rushmore, president, HVS International; William R.Tiefel, president, Marriott Lodging; Jeff Weinstein, editor-in-chief, Hotels Magazine

1996: Daniel P. Weadock, president and chief executive officer, ITT Sheraton Corporation

1995: Michael A. Leven, president and chief operating officer, Holiday Inn Worldwide

1994: James Gaffigan, vice president of government affairs, AH&MA

2017: Discussion, The Power of Time Off: Changing Mindsets in the “No Vacation Nation" moderated by Katie Denis, senior director, Project: Time Off with panelists Christopher Heywood, senior vice president, global communications, NYC & Company; Katie McBreen, vice president of communications and public affairs, National Retail Federation; and Mike Murphy, former senior vice president of upscale brands, Choice Hotels International

Previous Speakers

2016: Jonathan M. Tisch, chairman and CEO, Loews Hotels; and co-chairman of the board and member of the office of the president, Loews Corporation

2014: Anna Clark, communications associate, Media Outreach, Rainforest Alliance; James MacGregor, president, Ecoplannet; Eric Ricaurte, founder and chief executive officer, Greenview; Louis Twining-Ward, president, Sustainable Travel International; and Pegi Vail, associate director, Center for Media, Culture and History, New York University

2013: Gary Loveman, chairman, chief executive officer, and president, Caesars Entertainment Corporation

2012: From NYC & Company: George Fertitta, chief executive officer;  Kelly Curtin, senior vice president, membership and destination services; Makiko Matsuda Healy, vice president, tourism development;  Jane Reiss, executive vice president and chief marketing officer; Willy Wong, senior vice president, chief creative officer

2011: Raymond N. Bickson, managing director and chief executive officer, Taj Hotels Resorts and Palaces

2010: Howard Givner, founder, Paint the Town Red; David Adler, chief executive officer and founder, BizBash Media; Karen Dalzell, president and founder, Dalzell Productions/DalzellGreen; Mary Wittenberg, president and chief executive officer, New York Road Runners; race director, ING New York City Marathon

2009: Michelle Morgan, president, Signature Travel Network; Gary Murphy, president, Brendan Worldwide Vacations

2008: Henry H. Harteveldt, vice president and principal analyst, Forrester Research

2007: Dawn Drew, vice president and publisher, National Geographic Traveler

2006: Roger J. Dow, president and chief executive officer, TIA

2005: Terry L. Dale, president and chief executive officer, Cruise Lines International Association (CLIA)

2004: Cristyne L. Nicholas, president and chief executive officer, NYC & Company

2003: David Neeleman, chief executive officer, Jet Blue Airways Corporation